Maze

Today’s daily WordPress one-word prompt is: Maze

I absolutely love to “do” the corn mazes that are so popular here in the fall around Halloween.  I’m not sure if this is a “southern thing” or not but they sure can be a lot of fun.  My husband and I used to take our kids to corn mazes when they were smaller.  It was always fun to walk through the maze, and then there were usually other fun things to do with children like hayrides and petting zoos, pumpkin patches and fun games to play.  Some of the mazes were educational where they gave you questions to answer  along the way.  You could choose what “themed” maze you wanted to do.

680x400-Corn-Maze

corn-maze-entrance

sweet-corn-maze-905219_960_720

The-Mid-South-Maze-700x525

pumpkins-92101_960_720

When my kids grew up and went off to college, they used to tell me about going to “Haunted” Corn mazes at night with groups of friends.  You had to take a flashlight to make your way through the maze.  There was creepy music piped through the maze, fog machines and strobe lights, and spooky twists all along the way.  When you finally made it to the center of the maze, you were rewarded with food stands and soft drinks.

Several years ago there was a story circulating in our news that told about a couple with small children who took on a corn maze one late afternoon.  They couldn’t find their way out, their children were getting tired and hungry and so they actually called 911 to be rescued.  Then I heard the following year that people were actually using their GPS units to find their way out of these mazes?  I don’t know why, but that struck me as funny.  Isn’t part of the fun of going to a corn maze trying to find your way out?

When I was a child I remember going into one of those Fun House Mirror mazes at our state fair (it was called House of Mirrors or something like that).  I got lost and didn’t think I would ever find my way out of there!  I remember getting frightened.  I never wanted to go back into another one until someone told me that if you look down on the floor, they have little tiny arrows marked to point the way out.  

When I was six months pregnant with my second child, my husband and three-year old son and I took a trip to Panama City Beach Florida with my sister and her family.  I remember we went and played miniature golf and then did a maze.  This maze  was probably about the size of a football field and it was a lot of fun.  The walls were wooden but didn’t go all the way to the ground.  There were several towers to climb to get a viewpoint and an idea of just where you were in the maze which was helpful. The maze was actually quite harder than it appeared to be and it took us much longer to find our way out.   There were funny signs all throughout the maze about people getting lost or how seasonally they did a sweep to remove all the skeletons, and about a honeymoon couple who went into the maze and when they finally emerged, they had two children.  Even though I was only 6 months pregnant, I looked like I was 9 months pregnant and so everyone we came across told me I might be having the baby somewhere in the maze or they would ask my husband and me if we were SURE we wanted to do this.  It was in August and man was it hot in there. It probably wasn’t a good thing for a pregnant woman to be getting lost inside a maze in the middle of August in hot sunny Florida, but it sure was fun.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maze

  1. Relax... says:

    Oh gosh, pregnant or ancient, I think I’d rather throw a saddle on a Mako shark and irritate the crap out of him than to EVER do a maze of any kind!!

    • Gail says:

      LOL! Doing mazes makes me realize just how terrible my sense of direction is. My husband will say, “This way out,” and I always think it’s the exact opposite direction. He’s usually always right! Ha!

Leave a Reply

