Pink

This post is in response to the WordPress daily one-word prompt:  pink

There are certain things that come to mind when I think of the color pink.

I love almost all pink flowers.  I particularly love pink hydrangeas, pink roses, pink daisies and pink azaleas. I have several hydrangea bushes but all are blue.  I did have one pink hydrangea but it never grew for some reason and finally died despite my best efforts to save it.  All my blue hydrangea bushes seem to thrive.  We have pink lilies that belonged to my husband’s grandfather.  When he passed away, my husband and father-in-law transplanted them into our yard.  My husband and I are always happy to see them bloom every year.  Sometimes they bloom more than once during the summer.

flowers-916691_960_720

roses-194117_960_720

pink-daisies-2121591_960_720

Azalea

peonies

pink-lilies

I’ve always wanted to visit Washington D.C. in the spring when the cherry trees are in full bloom.  My oldest son visited there in college and it just happened to be peak cherry blossom time when he was there.  Maybe one day, I’ll see them in person.

japanese-cherry-trees-2168858_960_720

cherry-trees-2254137_960_720

Aren’t pink skies lovely?

purple-691328_960_720

010

germany-199235_960_720

I love pink lemonade.  It’s so refreshing on hot southern summer days.

pink-lemonade-795029_960_720

I think pink flamingos are such interesting creatures.  Did you know their color can be influenced by what they are fed?

flamingo-1792211_960_720

Everyone recognizes these two infamous pink medicines—  Pepto Bismol and Amoxicillin.

e5424563-f549-439b-b195-72303b1d2a99_1.8e6b609c300f9c6be9c30ed7a4293dfc1602_1605_1

My hubby makes the best homemade strawberry ice cream every summer.

002

Strawberry milkshakes remind me of my dad.  He loved them.  When he was sick with his cancer, he developed horrible mouth ulcers as a side effect of his chemotherapy.  He cried and I felt so bad for him.  Even the doctor was horrified when he looked into my dad’s mouth.  I remember very gently spoon-feeding my father strawberry milkshakes.  It was all he could get down and the cold soothed his ulcers.

pexels-photo-103566

I remember as a child, my friends and I would walk to Dipper Dan ice cream parlor. Pink lemonade and pink bubble gum were favorites.

53

And who didn’t chew Bazooka Joe bubble gum when they were growing up?

joe

I love pink lipstick and pink lip gloss.

pink-lipstick-314745_960_720

And last but not least, I love my pink Women’s Devotional Bible.

Women's Devotional Bible

Gail 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pink

  1. Anna Love says:

    Beuatiful flowers…that sunset looks lovely bit my favourite is the Bible (although I prefer King James version.

    http://www.annalovelife.com/

  2. vinneve says:

    Gorgeous photos of PINK… I am not a fan of this colour but your photos I truly appreciated. 🙂

    • Gail says:

      I can’t say pink is my favorite color either. I never wore it much when I was little and never considered myself a girly girl who HAD to wear lots of pink! LOL! Always love pink flowers though!

  3. Relax... says:

    Beautiful photos, great reminiscing! We have a hydrangea bush, and its accompanying directions said it would bloom blue or pink depending upon the elemental makeup of our soil. I don’t know if there’s any way to change that (do you know of any?), but I particularly wanted lovely blue, would’ve happily settled for pink, but we got some faint blend of the two, lol.

    • Gail says:

      I guess I need to do a little reading and research on Hydrangeas. I haven’t quite figured them out! I’ve always heard their color is dependent on the pH of the soil. Our “blue” hydrangeas sometimes turn into mixtures of blue and pink and sometimes they’ve appeared purple. Some years they’ve been very dark blue and yet we’ve done nothing to “change” the soil? The smaller pink hydrangea bush I had was such a pretty color but just never would grow. It was very close to one of my larger blues and the pink bush finally died but the blue one continued doing well. Go figure!

      • Relax... says:

        I should read up on it, too — we got like one bloom on the second year, then 3 or 4, and I can’t remember what we got last year, but it was also minimal, and all of them not blue! The care card that comes with these says not to remove the dead branches, but maybe they meant not until after the first bloom? They are a beautiful plant with or without blooms, aren’t they?

      • Gail says:

        Our hydrangeas seem to sometimes have “off” years where they don’t get many blooms, and then other years they’re so full, they’re practically drooping on the ground! I have no idea about removing the dead branches. I really do need to read up on them!! And yes, they are very lovely with or without blooms! I know it doesn’t take much heat to make them puny looking and oh how a good watering will perk them up!

      • Relax... says:

        Yes, LOL! They’re pretty much the dramatic girl-cats of the yard bushes!

      • Gail says:

        LOL! I agree!

  4. peggywillett says:

    WOW, this is an amazing pink post. Thanks for the great visuals and all your delightful comments.

    • Gail says:

      Thank you and thanks for taking the time to stop here and comment! (Wish I could take credit for all the photos but I can’t. Some are mine and some are from free image sites).

  5. urvashi7 says:

    I loved the photos. They are eye catching. Pink skies stole the show for me.

Leave a Reply

