Springtime Walk

Yesterday my hubby and I decided to take a nice leisurely walk in the neighborhood. The weather had cooled down considerably and there was a nice cool breeze blowing. We took our walk just before dusk when the sun was setting and the moon was competing and trying hard to make an appearance of its own.  The air was fresh with a scent of lilac and honeysuckle.   It was heavenly.  

honeysuckle-blossoms

lilacs1

As we approached a curve in the road, my husband threw his arm out in front of me, giving me a signal to stop, and pointed ahead while whispering, “Look!”  There at the edge of someone’s backyard were four deer.  They had just come out of the woods and were looking at us with great curiosity.  One, a spike buck, appeared to be frozen in his tracks.  I would have sworn at first that he was a plastic yard decoration had my husband not seen him step out of the woods.  Finally, he moved.  There were three does behind him.  We stood still at the side of the road watching them watching us.  Then out of the corner of my eye, I saw what at first looked like a dark gray cat coming out of the woods.  It retreated as fast as it had appeared.  When I saw its hind end, I realized it wasn’t a cat, but a raccoon.  About that exact time, my husband said, “Look, there’s a raccoon too.”  The raccoon, who seemed to be on very amiable terms with the deer, started weaving in and out of their legs, before going into the woods.  Then it would reappear and do the same thing.  I realized it was a young raccoon and it was playing with those deer.

deer-1306076964dcZ

deer-in-the-wild-1421169764QjR

raccoon-1933593_960_720

I had never seen anything like it.  We stood there and watched them for quite some time and then headed home.  I had gotten my dose of cuteness for the day.  

Gail ♥

Of course I had forgotten to bring my camera on our walk (isn’t that a sure sign that you will see lots of wildlife…. when you forget the blasted camera)?  So…. the above photos are all public domain photos for your viewing pleasure.   🙂

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Springtime Walk

  1. misifusa says:

    Gail what a magical walk for you both! I love your post today! Next time, please bring your camera! 🙂

Leave a Reply

