Cool Crisp Nights

pexels-photo-111236

This post is in response to the WordPress one-word daily prompt: Crisp

I’ve lived in the US Southeast nearly my entire life.  I was born in Cincinnati, Ohio and my parents moved to Tennessee when I was just 11 months old.  So I’ve lived here for 57 years and there’s nowhere else I’d rather be.

We’ve already had some very warm days here which is not unusual for us.  After all, it IS June (can you believe it)?  We’ve had several days already where the thermometer has reached 85 and 87 degrees.  The heat and humidity can be bad here in the summer and we’ve already had a few days where Mr. Humidity has flexed his big ole muscles, getting ready to show us what he can do.

So to have weather yesterday and today in the mid 60s and low 70s was really nice. My kitties enjoyed the cooler weather too and spent most of the days out on the porch or sitting in the open windows.  They love to sit in the windows attacking insects that light on the screen.  Last night I opened the windows and let the cool crisp night air waft through my house.  The moon was bright and making shadows of the trees on the ground.

pexels-photo-173435

DSCF8076 (2)

DSCF8073

As I lay in bed reading before bedtime, I listened to the serenading of the crickets.  It was a symphony to behold.  I didn’t even have to turn on the sound machine upon turning out the light because the crickets were my sound machine.  And then my friend the barred owl came and added his harmony.  It was delightful, falling asleep to the sounds of nature.  I don’t know what it is about sleeping with the windows open on a cricket-chirping cool night, but I always sleep so soundly and wake up feeling more refreshed.

The windows will be open again tonight as the temperature drops to 54.  I’ll enjoy it because next week, we’re back to heat and humidity with temperatures in the low 90s.

Gail

Nighttime tree photos courtesy of Pexel.  Kitty photos my own.

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cool Crisp Nights

  1. enitsirk24 says:

    Cool crisp nights with crickets. I look forward to the crickets soon.

    Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

