Feeling Old

My husband and I went grocery shopping together today.  It was a lovely warm day.  We had just come out of the store and were making our way with our shopping cart across the parking lot to our vehicle when we heard someone holler, “HEY RICKY.”  A man with silvery gray hair was walking towards us.  He approached my husband with his hand out and shook hubby’s hand.  My husband greeted him back and they exchanged the usual How are yous.

Our oldest son was due home in a few hours.  He was coming home for a weekend Father’s Day visit.  He loves Root Beer so we always get him a 6 pack of A&W Root Beer in the brown bottles when he’s home.  My husband had the 6 pack hanging on the side of the cart.  The man who had just greeted my husband looked down and said, “Oh, did you buy me some beer?”  Hubby laughed and said, “Root Beer.”  The silver-haired man, said, “Well, good to see you,” waved, nodded at me, and walked on his way towards the store.

We got to our car and started loading groceries into the trunk.  I asked hubby who the man was.  He looked at me with a very puzzled look on his face and said, “I don’t have a clue, I was hoping you could tell me!”  I laughed and told him I didn’t have a clue either. All the way home, he kept saying, “I don’t have any idea who that person was.”  He said he was too embarrassed to ask the man, “Um, who are you?”  I told him it had to be someone from his early days as he called him “Ricky” and my husband hasn’t gone by Ricky since high school.  He goes by Rick now.  Hubby thinks it was someone from elementary school.

We laughed the whole way home.  I said, “I guess we really are getting old.”

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling Old

  1. Julie says:

    My mom defines old age/dementia: when old friends become new friends.

Leave a Reply

