Wagon Wheel

Boy, these daily prompts are stumping me and stumping me good!  It seems I’m finding myself sitting here staring at a blank screen and a blinking cursor day after day.  And then today, I learn that the one-word prompt is wheel.  Really?  You’ve got to be kidding me.  Well, here goes.

I’m posting yet another marching band show from my high school years.  This was my 10th grade year in 1974 and the theme of our show was “Paint Your Wagon.”  The band formed a wagon wheel towards the end of the show (well the spokes of a wagon wheel anyway).  I don’t know if you will appreciate it but it was an INCREDIBLY hard drill for the band to do (it had never been done before) and keeping those lines straight during that drill was no small task.  I was a majorette and was not in the wheel formation itself. The majorettes were off to the sides doing their own little thing.

But I’ll never forget how long and how hard the band practiced this drill.  In the hot Tennessee summer days.  Over and over and over.  I think this was my MOST favorite year in the band and I loved this show. What happy memories I have from those days!  I only wish the audio and the video were better but hey, it was 1974!  I apologize for the skipping in the video towards the end. Also, it was late afternoon and the sun was dipping behind the gigantic stadium press box causing some shading and shadowing, so the band almost becomes invisible in the shade on the sidelines.

For those who want to skip ahead to the WHEEL formation, go to 5:08 on the time marker.  And just in case you’re wondering, the band got called back for finals and we won the Tennessee State Marching Championship and were the Reserve Grand Champions that year!

Gail ♥ 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

