Books I Read in June

It’s that time of year when our air conditioner seems to never quit running.  It’s hot and humid and just walking outside to get the newspaper or mail makes you feel all sticky and damp.  My cats beg to go outside on the porch, but 10 minutes later they want in and they come in panting and flop on the cool hardware floors.  I wipe them down with a cold cloth. A few hours later, they want out again and the ritual repeats itself.  Aah….. Tennessee summers!  Can you believe this year is already half over and that the Fourth of July holiday is here?  I can’t!  I’m looking forward to the books I’ve chosen to read for July and hoping to get started on that July reading soon.

Here’s the four books I read in June.

A Dog’s Purpose: A Novel for Humans– by W. Bruce Cameron

51q94MZ3BQL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

This book-turned-movie was one I wanted to read before I watched the DVD.  I really enjoyed the book.  I knew it was a given that it would make me cry because don’t ALL dog books do that?  Well, I’ll just say that this book made me cry a total of about six times and I’ve decided NOT to watch the movie and relive all that sadness.  Not now anyway. Maybe later.  I’ve wanted to read this book for quite some time after it was recommended to me by a dear friend in church who I was in book club with.  This sweet friend has since succumbed to breast cancer and my only regret is that I didn’t read it while she was still living as I think it would have been great discussing it with her.  We had the same taste in books and she loved animals as much as I do.

Anyway, I did enjoy this book and particularly liked the Afterword at the end where the author explains how he came to write the book.  That was an interesting story.

Living Courageously: You Can Face Anything, Just Do it Afraid– by Joyce Meyer 

41E5BOfUDzL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve never read a Joyce Meyer book I didn’t just love and this one was no exception. I found this book in the bargain section at BAM for only $2.97 so I wasn’t going to pass it up. I’ve said it before, but her books just always seem to speak to me and I love her message which was basically fear can paralyze us and we need to break out of unhealthy fears and face them head-on. There was much scriptural truth in what she wrote.

Joyce discusses right and wrong fears, the sources of our fears, phobias, fears and faith and also discusses different types of common fears.  At the end of the book she lists several scriptures to help overcome fear as well as scriptures about the power of faith.  I give this book five stars as I do most of Joyce Meyer’s books.

For This I was Born: Aligning Your Vision to God’s Cause by Brian Houston 

51l6F1q1PwL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

I read about this book on a Christian blog and decided I wanted to read it.  It’s a jewel and definitely a keeper to read again and again.  The author, Brian Houston, and his wife, Bobbie, are the senior pastors of Australia’s largest church, Hillsong Church, in Sydney.  It was the first book I’ve read by this author and I would definitely read more by him.  I had to laugh while reading it because I found my myself highlighting so much of every page that I was essentially coloring the pages with a fluorescent yellow marker.  It seemed it was ALL important.  I’m such a highlighter that I once had a professor in veterinary school tease me that I would save a lot of money on highlighters if I would just start highlighting the stuff that’s NOT important! 

This book is short, simple and easy to read with a great encouraging message.  If you find yourself questioning the meaning of life, I would recommend this book.

The Blood Pressure Book: How to get it down and keep it down– by Stephen P. Fortmann, M.D. and Prudence E. Breitrose

51u+XfF36pL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I bought this book in 2007 when my oldest son was a senior in high school and he’s finished both college and grad school so I decided maybe it was time I pull this book off the shelf, dust if off and actually read it!  Ha!  There was no earth shattering new news I learned about managing blood pressure but it was a good review.  It discussed the usual things like controlling weight, sodium intake, exercise and stress.  I did learn a little more about the DASH diet and I like that it was full of check-off charts and check-up sheets and self tests.

Did you read anything interesting in June?  I’d love to hear about it!

Happy reading!

Gail ♥

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

