Happy Birthday to My Husband

Today is my hubby’s 58th birthday.  He was born exactly 6 days before I was.  About the time his mother was bringing him home from the hospital fifty-eight years ago, my mother was going into the hospital to have me.  That was back in the day when new moms stayed in the hospital 5-7 days after giving birth.

scan0009

Hubby’s newborn hospital photo.  Isn’t he adorable?  Don’t you just want to pinch those cheeks?

So for six days, I tease hubby that I am married to an older man and that he robbed the cradle.  He just rolls his eyes at me because he’s good at that.

It was hot as blazes today as it just about always is for our birthdays.  After all, it’s July and we’re in Tennessee.  Even early this evening as we were driving to the restaurant for his birthday dinner, the thermometer in his truck was reading 99 degrees.  And it felt every bit of 99.

We had a nice dinner at Longhorn Steakhouse, one of our favorite local places to eat. He got steak and I got Parmesan Crusted Chicken. He wouldn’t let me pull out my camera to take pictures (he gets all embarrassed over things like that) and I don’t have a smart phone or I would show you how delicious it really looked.  I guess I’m forced to show you the mouth-watering menu pictures.

d-parmesan-crusted-chicken-dpv

1620LH_NyStrip12ozLBPotRGB_918x568

After dinner, we had cake and ice cream with his parents and his sister.  Hubby makes the BEST homemade ice cream and last night he made homemade strawberry.  Boy was it good.  It went good with the cake I made from scratch bought at Publix.

DSCF8145

002

I’m telling you, no one can make homemade ice cream like this man can.  It was just right. Perfect.

Happy birthday Rick.  I love you.

Gail

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Birthday to My Husband

  1. Relax... says:

    Awww, so sweet!! Happy Birthday, Rick! 🙂

  2. Julie says:

    That was sweet (pardon the pun). Happy Birthday to Rick. I have ice cream making skills, too. Planning to make coconut, chocolate chip to go with a birthday cake I’ll be making next week. Is Rick willing to share his recipe?

  3. Irene says:

    Love the pic and the story! 😊

Leave a Reply

