Birthday Girl

Today is 7/17/17.  It is also my 58th birthday. I was born 58 years ago in Cincinnati, Ohio. Weighing in at 6 lbs. 5 oz. and 18 inches long, my mother used to get irritated when people would refer to me as a “premature” baby. Because I wasn’t.  I was full term and just a small baby.  I came into the world at 12:24 am so was almost a July 16th baby instead of a July 17th baby.

newborn Gail

Me as a newborn. There’s no date on this photo but my mother estimated it was taken when I was 6 days old.

I’ve told this birth story before on my blog and since my mother’s not here to tell it like she always did on my birthday, I’m telling it again.  It was funnier hearing it from her in person but oh well.

I was the third child born to my parents. They already had two girls— a 3-year-old and a 16 month old. My mother got pregnant with me when her last baby was only 7 months old. I guess you could say I was an oops baby. Well, actually I was a “diaphragms don’t work if you don’t take them out of the nightstand drawer” baby. My mother always laughed at this part of the story and said that my dad sorta snuck up on her that night.  Okaaaay. But anyway, when the doctor told my mother she was pregnant with me, she looked at him and said, “I CAN’T BE PREGNANT!  I JUST HAD A BABY!” Well, she WAS pregnant and needless to say, I was supposed to be the boy. My mother said when she woke up from having me (back then they put women under anesthesia to have babies), she looked down at her wrist and saw another pink bracelet.  She stared at that bracelet thinking maybe her eyes weren’t yet focusing, but yep, that bracelet was definitely pink and not blue.  And according to her when she always told this story, she then said, “Well, damn…. another girl.” That is SO my mother… You just had to know her. The lady in the bed right next to her said, “Well, I just had my 3rd boy. You wanna trade?” And then they both had a good laugh.

scan0006

My cute little feet

Gail's first birthday

scan0004

My mother with me and my two sisters.  I’m the baby sitting in her lap. 1959.  I think my mother had her hands full.

My mother said I’m lucky to be here because my sister who was 16 months older than me tried her darndest to poke my eyes out.  Really.  She always went for my eyes.

My husband offered to take me out tonight for a birthday dinner, telling me I could choose the restaurant of my choice since I was the birthday girl. But I told him I thought grilled hamburgers at home appealed to me more. So that’s what we did. He grilled the burgers and I made salads, baked beans and oven baked waffle fries.

DSCF8201 (2)

Later there was birthday cake. Can you tell my favorite color is yellow?  Hubby always gets yellow flowers on my cake.

DSCF8205

DSCF8215

And there was homemade strawberry ice cream again, left over from hubby’s birthday six days ago.

DSCF8208

It was all delicious. My dear sweet mother-in-law’s 88th birthday is in 4 days. And then our anniversary will be here in just over 2 weeks on August 2nd (our 32nd)! And so the celebrations with cake continues. Losing weight in July is well, impossible. That’s all I’ll say about that.

I miss my parents on my birthday. Always do. Always will.

scan0023

My mom and dad at my wedding– 1985.

Gail       ♥ 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Birthday Girl

  1. Relax... says:

    Happy Birthday!! Awesome photos! You look like your mom. Do you remember her singing to you? I’ll bet she sang again today.

    • Gail says:

      Thanks you and yes, I remember her singing to me. She had such a lovely singing voice. When I was little, she always bought me a bakery cake but then when I was older, she always made us homemade birthday cakes of our choice. I always picked a chocolate cake with white icing.

      • Relax... says:

        🙂 Aww.. Well, that zillion-layered cake with yellow roses looks like it could be a close second to a white iced chocolate one! But not really — no cake ever measures up to the ones Mom made.

      • Gail says:

        Had to edit and add in a couple of things I remembered. I hate when I hit publish before my brain is finished reminiscing. True about the cake. It’s funny how everyone had their own cake. My oldest sister always requested a pineapple upside down cake, and the middle sister a German Chocolate cake. My dad like lemon cake and my mom pineapple upside down cake too.

      • Relax... says:

        I’ll go back and re-read! Mmmm, I’d have gone for the lemon for sure (well, nowadays — maybe not as a kid…I’d have probably chosen the one you did!).

      • Gail says:

        Oh you really don’t have to reread. It’s really not all that exciting.

        You mentioned your Hydrangeas. Mine coughed and died. Not much blooming this year. Not sure if it was the heat or the torrential rain. It was definitely an off year. Maybe that means next year will be a good year!

      • Relax... says:

        My bush finally decided to act normal-ish. The greens are always lovely anyhow, but it produced a number of blooms (which aren’t half as dark in my photo as they really are). There’s a huge bloom over on the left side of the thing — it’s snapping turtle sized! almost. lol

      • Gail says:

        I am not seeing the photo with the Hydrangea????

      • Relax... says:

        Hmmm… I’ll go check that soon!

  2. enitsirk24 says:

    Happy Birthday, Gail!! 🎶🎵
    Question about the picture of the 1st birthday. It is written 1960…wouldn’t you be 2 then?

    • Gail says:

      Thanks for the birthday wishes. I was born in 1959. So I would have been one year old in the birthday photo. 🙂

      • enitsirk24 says:

        Oh, I woke in the middle of the night and through my grogginess, I thought you said at the beginning you were born in 1958. Wow, I was making you older than you are. Sorry. 😊

      • Gail says:

        It’s quite alright. All last year, both my husband and I would look at each other and say, “Are we 57 or 58? Ha!

  3. Happy Birthday! Hope that you had a wonderful day!

  4. Julie says:

    Glad you had a nice birthday, wishing you many happy returns. That burger looks great. And your mom was real pretty.

  5. Irene says:

    Happy belated birthday! Love your pics and your story is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

