Glen Campbell: A Musical Legend

Glen_Campbell_1967

 

Nashville is in mourning. Glen Campbell, legendary musician and guitarist, passed away this morning at the age of 81. Our Rhinestone Cowboy is gone.

Twice I had the privilege of going to see Glen Campbell play his guitar and sing live. The last time was on his farewell tour at the historic Ryman Auditorium in downtown Nashville, Tennessee about five years ago. Alzheimer’s had already reared its ugly head and it was evident in Glen’s life. But even with Alzheimer’s and at age 76, the man put on a performance like you’d never believe!  I’ll never forget that night. No doubt, he was an entertainer.

The first time I went to see Glen Campbell was in 1972 when he performed at the Municipal Auditorium in Nashville Tennessee. It was two weeks after my 13th birthday. I had received a 110 pocket camera for my birthday and so I snapped an entire roll of film of Glen singing and playing up on that stage in his dazzling sparkling getup.

41KDuic0LxL._SX355_

When I went to pick up the film after developing, to my surprise, there were no photos in the envelope. Only a letter telling me my photos had been destroyed in processing. Let me tell you, this 13-year-old girl stood outside that drugstore on the sidewalk and bawled.

While other little girls were swooning over teen idols like David Cassidy and Bobby Sherman, the Beatles and The Monkeys, I was mesmerized by Glen Campbell. It was HIS poster that hung on the back of my bedroom door. The first album I ever bought was By the Time I get to Phoenix.

Glen_Campbell_By_the_Time_I_Get_to_Phoenix_album_cover

There will NEVER be another guitar player like Glen Campbell. He was a child prodigy who started playing at age 4 and a musical genius who couldn’t even read music. He was said to have had perfect pitch. Dolly Parton said it all tonight when she said he could play anything and he played it well.

He was an extremely gifted musician and in my opinion, one of the finest guitar players known in country music.

I heard him say that this was his favorite song and that he just loved it.

This was my favorite.

RIP Glen Campbell.  I’m thankful you shared your amazing gift with the world for so many years. Music City is alive with your music tonight as a tribute to your amazing life and talent, and we will never forget you.

city-936398_960_720

I love playing in the South, … I play lots of concerts in Cleveland and Boston and other cities up North, but I don’t feel as comfortable as I do when I’m home in the South. — Glen Campbell 

Who are your friends? They are the people who are there in hard times or when you’re hurting beyond words. Or with a few words of encouragement and concern, make you realize you’re really not lost at all. Friends comes in both sexes, in all shapes, colors and sizes, but the most important thing they have in common, is the ability to share with you, your best joys and your deepest sorrows, for they are your friends.
― Glen Campbell

Gail  

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Grief, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Glen Campbell: A Musical Legend

  1. Paula walker says:

    I loved him! Although my idol was David Cassidy. I can remember watching his show every Sunday night. I remember playing his records on your record player. He left an amazing legacy. His music will live on forever. Thank you for writing this! I knew you would write a tribute to your music idol.

  2. Thanks for sharing. I loved Rhinestone Cowboy. RIP Glen Campbell.

  3. Relax... says:

    Oh, damn and a half. There’s another hole in the world tonight… a big one. He was special indeed, Gail. ❤

    • Gail says:

      Yep, a BIG one.

      • Relax... says:

        Someone online told me of himself and a friend/cousin meeting him when he lived next door to them, either during or after the Tanya Tucker time. He’d come out on the porch in the mornings in his bathrobe with a cup of coffee, and they said he chatted them up and was very kind. So easy to believe that.

      • Gail says:

        I’ve always heard he was very humble, kind and very easy to talk to. And that he NEVER forgot where he came from. I read his autobiography years ago. It was good! There were some wild tales during the Tanya Tucker days!

      • Relax... says:

        I’d like to read that book — I’ll go to the library soon, thanks for mentioning it. Yep, I guess Tanya was a tad wild… 😮 !

      • Gail says:

        I think they tore up some hotel rooms in their days. It was a near- overdose that turned him to the Lord and he got clean and sober.
        Didn’t you see him in concert too?

      • Relax... says:

        No, but we watched him on television. My first concert came at 30 when I ran about City Hall telling all my co-workers how excited I was to be seeing Don McLean. To a person, they replied, “WHO??” My second and last concert came after all 4 kids. The Beach Boys. Two of ’em, anyway, and a bunch of talented imposters. The tickets for both were free, due to knowing an advertising man, but how disappointing that McLean was in a crabby mood! My first concert, and I get to see crankypants. lol I’d MUCH rather have seen Glen. 🙂

      • Gail says:

        Yeah, what a bummer that Don McLean was cranky. Wonder what his problem was? I remember one of my blogger friends telling me they saw Glen Campbell in a night club once. I was thinking it was you.

Leave a Reply

