Meteor showers and memories

This blog I wrote on the annual Perseid Meteor Showers was the first blog I wrote on Moonlight Reflections way back in 2010 (well, actually the second if you count the introductory post as the first).

I’m resposting this because Saturday night (August 12th) will be the peak viewing time when you’re most likely to see more of the meteors. You can usually see 50-75 meteors an hour in a dark rural area. Happy Meteor watching!!

Moonlight Reflections

I always love this time of year when we have the privilege of viewing the annual Perseid Meteor Showers.  They peak every year in August.  The origin of the Perseid’s is the comet Swift-Tuttle.  The tail of Swift-Tuttle intersects Earth’s orbit every August.  The space debris, or comet dust, looks like colorful streaks of light when it hits the atmosphere.

Back in the late ’70s is when I spent an evening outdoors watching my first Perseid Meteor Shower.  I was dating my husband (boyfriend then) and I had found an article in Good Housekeeping magazine about these meteor showers.  The article explained that the meteors are visible every August 10th, 11th, and 12th,  and that you could see anywhere from 60-100 meteors an hour on a good night.  The article also explained that the best way to see them was to get away from urban light pollution, find a dark field, preferably in the country…

View original post 591 more words

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

