Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach

Today’s daily prompt:  Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.

When I was about five years old, I remember a trip my family took to Gatlinburg, TN. Gatlinburg is a very popular tourist destination and it sits on the border of The Great Smoky Mountains National Park.  It’s one of my favorite places to visit.

I don’t have many memories of when I was five years old but I vividly remember that trip to Gatlinburg and driving through the mountains and seeing black bears at the picnic areas. I also remember eating at a sidewalk restaurant one evening which was called The Honey Pot (or something like that– it’s no longer there).  Each table had a honey pot sitting on the table and I remember my father giving me my first taste of honey that night.  I’ll never forget that taste of pure, smooth sweetness.  I’ve been hooked on honey ever since.

After dinner we visited several of the shops there on the strip.  I remember my father telling my two sisters and me that we could each pick out a toy or something we wanted as a souvenir.

I remember I wanted a stuffed black bear that had a red collar on.  Attached to that collar was a short chain leash with a red handle.  All the stores had them.  They were everywhere we went.  They looked like this.

photo credit: AntiquesNavigator.com

photo credit: AntiquesNavigator.com

I remember my father saying no for some reason.  I’m not sure why (my parents weren’t big on us having stuffed animals and I remember my mother saying they were nothing but dust collectors).  Maybe they were overpriced.  But oh how I wanted one of those black bears.  I begged.  I pleaded.  I just thought it would be the neatest thing ever to own one of those bears.  They still said no.  I’m sure I pouted a bit but I eventually got over it. Looking back, I’m sorta glad my parents didn’t give me everything I wanted.

Gail ♥

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.