Monday’s Question

Do you have any unusual Thanksgiving traditions? 

Many years ago, when my mother was still living, she purchased a decorative wooden pilgrim couple at Ole Time Pottery (they are approx. 2 ft. tall).  She taped an index card on the bottom of one of them and whoever hosts Thanksgiving in our family “gets” the pilgrim couple to display at their house that year. The date is written on the index card as well as who hosted.  This just sorta became on odd tradition in our family but it’s fun to look back at the list of dates over the years and see who hosted.  

Another tradition we have in our family is photographing all our new 
babies in the family on Thanksgiving with the turkey or a turkey drumstick. This year we are all excited to have a new baby in the family… my great-niece, who is 6 months old.   I guess she will be getting her picture made by the turkey or with a drumstick!!  Smile pretty Miss K! 

Oldest son at 2 months by the Thanksgiving turkey. My niece and nephew are also pictured. 1989

Oldest son with turkey drumstick. 1990

Youngest son with turkey drumstick. 1993

My nephew with turkey drumstick. 1990

Tell me about your Thanksgiving traditions!    And have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!!!!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. indie says:

    My family took a photo of baby me in a high chair with the drum stick too. Kind of yucky to look back at. 🙂

  2. Gail says:

    Awww…. sounds like one to post on FB Indie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

