Ho Ho Ho!

When I was a kid, one of the memories I have at Christmas time, is my father always belting out big Ho Ho Hos.  It was just something he did around the Christmas season.  It was just him.  He even answered the phone by saying Ho Ho Ho, (or Ho Ho Ho, Merry Christmas) and my friends liked it so much that sometimes they would purposely call the house just to hear his telephone greeting.  He was always so jolly like when he said it.

mchoho9

I sure miss him, especially at this time of year.  I miss hearing him say those three words. I loved that man so much

Christmas 1970

My father and me.  Christmas of 1970 (I was 11)

scan0024

My father used to wear Ho Ho Ho socks every Christmas.  When he died in 1994, I took over the wearing of those socks every Christmas Day.  He’s been gone now for 22 years and I’m still wearing them.

027

One year I got my sisters each a pair of Ho Ho Ho socks so all three of us wearing them on Christmas Day has become one of our silly little traditions.  I like to think that my father looks down from Heaven and smiles when he sees this.

498943739mx14945

Years ago, when I came across these decorative Ho Ho Ho blocks in a Lillian Vernon catalog, well…. I just had to get them.  They sit in my den every Christmas among a few other Ho Ho Ho items.  I almost retired them this year (especially when one of my cats learned that it was kinda fun to knock them over…. again and again and again), but I just couldn’t.  I guess I’ll hang on to them a few more years.

025

031

keep_calm_and_ho_ho_ho_christmas_santa_ceramic_ornament-rea683056bc984ef78be9630b79705036_x7s2o_8byvr_324

Merry Christmas and Ho Ho Ho!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ho Ho Ho!

  1. Relax... says:

    What a sweet post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

