Saying Goodbye to Blogging

I’m coming here to say that after thinking long and hard, I’m pretty sure I’m saying goodbye to blogging.  It’s not what I want by any means.  It’s been fun but I’ll be very frank and tell you that I’m feeling quite frustrated.

Though I haven’t posted in a while, I guess you can say I’ve spent weeks “behind the scenes” trying to post.  Hours upon hours have been spent trying to correct “some problems” I’m having with this blog and I’ve gotten nowhere.  Frustrated does not begin to even describe how I’m feeling.   I realized I’ve gotten nowhere and I feel all these hours I’ve spent on this have been wasted.

Several weeks ago, while attempting to post a blog, WordPress would not allow me to post any photos.  After going to my media library, I found a message saying:

Looks like you have used 3.0 GB on your 3.0 GB upload limit (100%).  Since you are close to your limit, you might want to consider purchasing a WordPress.com Premium Plan.  With the upgrade, you’ll be able to upload mp3, m4a, wav, and ogg audio files (great for podcasting).

I’ve never even heard of m4a, wav, and ogg.  I have NO desire to do podcasting or try to figure out the more complicated Premium blogs.  I just don’t need all the bells and whistles of the premium blogs.  I need simple!

I realize I post photos with just about every blog I post.  Sometimes a lot of photos.  It’s something I just like to do.  I’m just a visual person and I do like those visuals, just as I prefer to read blogs with photos (it kinda breaks up the monotony of reading I guess?).  I realize I could continue on with just writing and not posting photos but I just don’t think I’d like that one bit.  I want my blog to be visually appealing.

Recently I spent some time in my media library as it seems my storage space was just suddenly gone which I didn’t understand.  I quickly noticed that there were sections of photos that for some odd reason were in duplicate or triplicate or repeated 5-6 times.  AHA!  I’d see several photos in multiples, and then scroll down some more, and there would be 5, 6, or 7 photos.  Again and again, this pattern repeated itself.   So yeah, I can see WHY I have no storage space left.

At first I believed this would be a simple fix.  I would just go in and delete the duplicated photos and presto, I’d free up some space!  So I started deleting these “extra” photos.   I also was deleting some photos I had uploaded that I never used.  In short, I spent hours upon hours and I didn’t make a dent.  It’s slow going, as I had to make sure I was only deleting the extra photos and not photos in a post that I needed there.  Since I’ve been blogging since 2010, it was taking a while!   Then I realized that even though I was deleting EXTRA photos (that for some reason just decided to show up in multiples), it removed those photos from my blog posts!  Aaarrgghhh!!   Which meant I spent even more time (time I really didn’t have) going back to all those posts and adding the photos back in.  So the more time I spend in trying to correct this problem, the bigger mess I’m making.  I’m tired and I’m frustrated.  I’m done messing with it all.

I’m feeling right now that if I spent every waking minute I have left on this earth, I’d never finish, or get it all corrected.  It’s messed up beyond what I’m able “to fix.”  And if that isn’t frustrating enough, all the hours I’ve spent deleting extra photos from my media library hasn’t freed up one iota of space!!

Now I’m seeing blog posts that say that all new “free” WP blogs only have o.5 GB of storage space (500 MB).  That’s quite a drastic drop from 3 GB.  The old predated blogs will keep their 3 GB.  WordPress Pro is an option but it is $15/month or $180 a year and gives you 50 GB storage space.   That’s a little more than I want to spend for a very complicated blog with bells and whistles that I know I will never use or need.  Actually, if truth be told, the thought of starting an entire new blog makes me nauseous.  So I’m pretty sure I won’t be doing that.  My husband is encouraging me to not give up blogging (he knows I love it so), and to start another new blog.  But seeing that new blogs now have so little storage space, and premium blogs are more than I need, it’s looking like neither is a viable option for me.

I love to write, and I’ve enjoyed blogging.  I was still learning.  Some things I never got right, like long rambling posts (like this one)!  And I’m sure I murdered the King’s English more than a few times – mistakes that probably had my mother rolling in her grave.  I try but I’m no English major and though English was one of my favorite subjects in school, it certainly wasn’t one of my best.  I’m not ashamed to tell you I’ve shed some tears over this decision and that I’ve prayed hard about it.  I’m sad at the thought of giving up my blog.  I don’t quit things easily so that should tell you something.  Blogging is one of the biggest enjoyments in my life since my empty nest.  But I think it’s time for this old gal to find another hobby (and that’s not going to be easy at almost 63 years of age).  I felt like I was finally getting up my courage to tell some hard stories, some important stories that may have helped other people.  But I figured God had other plans.  After I first prayed about it, I picked up a Joyce Meyer devotional and after reading it, it was like I was punched in the gut.  The devotional was all about not quitting.  It was about finding encouragement when you feel discouragement.  It was about getting “reassigned” when you feel resigned.  Was this God telling me to not quit?  And then it hit me, that maybe it’s not God who is telling me to give it up, but actually the devil who is the one not wanting me to tell these other stories that might offer help and encouragement to others.  I honestly don’t know.  I’m so confused.  How do you know?  Maybe I just overthink things too much.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not smart enough to go with a Premium Plan since I struggle enough with just this basic non-customized blog.  I’ve never claimed to be tech savy.  In fact, I’m quite the opposite.   Remember, I grew up with black and white TV, transistor radios, and rotary wall phones.  I STILL don’t have a smart phone (Yeah, I think I’m the last person on the planet who doesn’t own one and doesn’t WANT to own one).  I’ve heard the customized blogs are pretty complicated and probably way beyond my capabilities.  So yeah, right now, that does not even feel like an option for me.  Remember, I’m Wilma Flintstone who read WordPress for Dummies when I started THIS blog and didn’t understand 3/4 of what I read.  I was so lost.  The thought of starting all over turns my stomach.  This is just MY opinion, but I distinctly get the idea that WP wants to cater to the business/professional bloggers and not the more simple hobby bloggers like myself.  And I do understand that!  It’s money for them.  The free options are not very appealing and maybe that’s their intention (again my opinion).  Maybe I need to visit other blogging platforms but for now, I’m just tired.

So I guess this is goodbye.  I apologize for this long rambling and disorganized post.  It’s been fun while it lasted (almost 12 years as I started this blog in August of 2010).  I appreciate the few who read this blog regularly and those who occasionally commented.  That always meant a lot and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.  I have met SO many nice and wonderful people through blogging and though I’ve never met them, I feel we’re friends.  I’ll miss blogging terribly and I’ll miss you too.  💔 Broken Heart Emoji - What Emoji 🧐

Gail 💔 Broken Heart Emoji - What Emoji 🧐

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Change, Hobbies, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Saying Goodbye to Blogging

  1. pattimorrison60 says:

    I will miss you Gail. Since we are the same age (pushing 63) many, many of the things you blogged about were so very familiar to me. Reading your blog was like visiting an old childhood friend or cousin. Your clarity of thought and heartfelt posts were welcome in an internet field quite often populated by those with a weaker command of the English language, or worse, those with an ax to grind.
    You will be sorely missed. Godspeed!!

    • Gail says:

      Thank you for your kind words that mean so much to me. I will miss this blog so much. It’s like grieving the loss of a friend and at my age, I need no more of that!

  2. Honest to God, last night I was praying for you, because I hadn’t seen you blogging in a while and was afraid something awful had happened! Well, first, I do understand about the ‘blogging decision, but there may be a couple of options: One is to delete all posts and media stored and start over as if a first-ever post — but then take down that post and clear media photos or graphics storage just before you post a new one (if it has media). And maybe a second option, have you looked into Blogger(dot)com? Not sure what the parameters are for inserting anything, but they’re still doing free ‘blogspots — maybe one can upgrade if paying, not sure. I will hate to see you stop writing here.. but could it be that you could write a book? Well, 😩shoot, Gail.. I wish you & all your family a wonderful life. ♥️🌷

    • Gail says:

      Oh, how sweet of you to pray for me! You are a jewel. You were one of the first (non-family members) I believe to read my blog and you have been a faithful reader and commenter for all this time. I appreciate you so much. You were actually one of the ones I was speaking about at the end when I said though I’ve never met you, you are a friend who I will miss.

      I don’t think I could ever delete this blog (not all of it anyway). Some of it I wrote so my kids would “know things” about their mom and have as a record. I think of meaningful posts I wrote that helped me grieve losses (like the ten series post I did about losing my mother to cancer). It’s like a log of my memories and deleting them would be a waste? Sure there are some less meaningful posts that I could glady delete (LOL) but for now I’m just so frustrated and tired and need to get away from it. But I do appreciate your suggestions. I do plan to look into blogger dot com but will wait awhile as I’ve spent so much time on this trying to correct the problem and starting over again when I’m so frustrated doesn’t seem the wise thing to do right now. LOL! I might hurl this computer right out the window!! Thanks Carol. I will still check in and read your blog. I am so behind in reading other’s posts due to trying to “fix” my own.

      • Thank you! Well, I don’t know why I thought you’d delete the ‘blog — but, thank heavens, you aren’t! (And now I can go back and read any posts I missed!)

  3. Oh no! This makes me so sad Gail! I’ve always felt that you were a kindred spirit and ALWAYS enjoyed conversing with you. You’re one of a handful of people that I actually communicate with. Couldn’t one of the WP tech people help you with the problem? I know you’re done, but it’s just a thought. I’ll really, really miss you, but I hope you find something else to have fun with. 😦

    • Gail says:

      Aw, thank you so much. I enjoy conversing with you too, although I don’t even know your real name! LOL! I always enjoy your blog and your photos especially… always truly beautiful. Your photos make me want to go to British Columbia and Alaska! I feel you are a kindred spirit too and when I read your blog I always feel we have so much in common.

      When I read your post the other day about WordPress decreasing storage space, I had another AHA moment and thought, well, yes, THAT’S why I suddenly used up all my space… it was taken away! But then I began reading comments and saw it was just an error on WP’s part and “old” blogs were still keeping their 3 GB. Just the new blogs would have the lesser amount of blog space.
      So your post was very helpful. I still feel if I could delete all the duplicated photos off my site, I would have more space! But so far I haven’t been able to do that and I’m wasting WAY too much time on this AND causing more problems. I somehow think WP will not be real sympathetic with my little problem, that they will just want me to purchase a premium blog AND if I must confess, I feel too dumb to try to talk intelligently to them about a tech problem (I’m so out of my league there). Learned my lesson on that with the WordPress for Dummies book! I still look forward to reading your posts and “staying in touch.”

      • Thanks Gail. I know what you’re talking about with the duplicate photos. It’s one of those things I seriously wish they’d fix. Even if it was just something that said
        “this photo is already in your media storage”. I’ve had to go through and remove duplicates a few times. Sometimes I can replace the missing one on an older post, sometimes I just have to leave it missing. 3GB is a lot to fill up so I can only imagine what a mess your library must be. When you say you’ll be staying in touch, do you mean you’ll still be here, but just not posting?

      • Gail says:

        I do post a lot of photos so it is possible that I did use up the 3 GBs. But maybe not since there are so many that have duplicated or repeat 5,6, 7 times. I guess I’m baffled that after hours of deleting, I haven’t freed up one bit of space? That makes no sense to me. The whole thing just has me frustrated so I’m definitely stepping away and not messing with it for a while, or maybe ever. I think I need to leave well enough alone and not cause any more problems than what is already there.

  4. Tony says:

    Very sorry to learn this, Gail. I hope you will continue to be a reader of the blogs here. I know that I certainly value your ideas. Best of luck in your new endeavors!

  5. enitsirk24 says:

    Hi Gail. I am so sad to read your good-bye message. I love reading your blog and have felt we were online friends of sorts because we responded to each other. I am going to miss you and your stories. I wish you well. May God direct your to your new writing venue and I hope we meet again.
    Kris

  6. JustI says:

    Bummer! I always look forward to sharing a cup of coffee with you, and recommending things you’ve found. I even tried out Syman Says Farms, Goat Milk Lotion and Soap. I know I don’t reply often, but I do read all the blogs I follow. I think (when you recover from deleting duplicate photos), you should reach out to WordPress, and ask them what the heck is going on. I say that because I hate to see you go! I’ll miss reading your posts 😦

    • Gail says:

      Thank you for your kind words and for being a faithful reader over the years. That means so much to me. I’m glad you tried the Syman Says goat milk products and hope you like their products as much as I do (I just got an order I placed for more lotion).

      Thanks again. I’ll miss this blog (I already do).

  7. Linda Stoll says:

    Gail, I hope you get this comment. I never knew you were a blogger. I’m so sorry that you felt you had to give it up. I hear and understand all those frustrations. I continue to ‘cross my fingers’ and trust that God will maintain the simple blogging I do. If I run into a problem like you’ve encountered, I know I would feel the exact same way.

    You have blessed me with your presence. Thank you.

    • Gail says:

      Thanks for your very kind comments Linda. I started blogging in August of 2010 and so I blogged for almost 12 years. I miss it so much Linda and I am feeling a bit lost without it. At times, it really did give me a way to process things, like grieving my parents’ deaths. Someone told me once that I should blog about my mother’s end of life in Hospice care and her death. I decided to do just that and that “blog” became a ten part series which in hind sight helped me more than you will ever know with her dying. Maybe one day, I’ll blog again. It’s something I’m praying about but not hearing any clear answers.

  8. Gabriel... says:

    Hi. If you’re interested, there are ways around the 3G limit… the one I use is to have a second (or third or fourth) blog for photo storage. Create a new WP blog, and call it nightowlgailphotostorage.wp.com. Upload your photos there, then take the link and add it to your post at nightowlgail.wp.com — when you add a photo to a post, it asks if you want to add the photos via a URL (“Insert from URL”). Just enter the URL from your photo storage sight into the box and PRESTO, the photo will appear. It might sound a little complicated, but once you’ve done it two or three times, it gets very easy.

    Good luck.

Leave a comment