The No Fun Summer Cold

 

My oldest son came home last week for his younger brother’s graduation.  He was sick with a bad cold.  He ran a low grade fever for a couple of days, chilled, was fatigued, and has slept a lot.  On one of those fever ridden days, we both had poured ourselves a glass of iced tea in the same type coke glass (our first mistake).  He had set his down on one part of the kitchen counter and I had put mine down on another.  Not paying attention, I accidentally picked his up, thinking of course it was mine, and took a few swigs.  Did I mention he had a fever that day?   I immediately started popping 1000 mg of Vitamin C, but I knew I was doomed. 

Yes, you guessed it.  I now have that dreaded summer cold.  Within 48 hours I was sneezing my head off and then I could feel that old familiar yucky tickle in the back of my throat.  Mine seems to be settled in on the left side – causing an earache and stuffiness in my left ear and a sore throat on that side.  Not fun.  I’ve coughed until my sides ache.  Our weather has been horribly hot and humid lately with temperatures in the mid to upper 90s for the past couple of weeks.  It’s hard for me to breathe outside when it’s that hot and doubly hard when you’re all stuffy with a cold.   I’ve loaded myself up on over-the-counter antihistamines that give warnings about the possibility of drowsiness, but they seem to have the opposite effect on me and wire me.  I went over 24 hours without being able to sleep.  I felt ever so tired last night but laid in bed awake all night and tossed and turned.  I stayed home from church this morning and rested in bed.  My body was crying out for sleep that for some reason just didn’t want to come.  Yep, I hate colds.  I find they’re harder on this gal the older I get and so I’m trying to baby myself a little more.  You know – getting more sleep, eating  healthier, taking vitamins, drinking more fluids, etc.  I’m drinking lots of green tea and hot lemon tea with honey and I even pulled out the Neti pot SinuCleanse® last night, and by gosh, I do believe it helped. 

Needless to say, my tired and weary body has put the decluttering projects on hold until  I’m over this thing.   The good news is that I’m spending some of that rest time in bed reading all those cleaning/decluttering books and coming up with a game plan.  The bad news is that my son told me today I have AT LEAST another week of this!

Gail♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

